
Chapter 9: Joan of Arc’s Victory 
Addenda Sheet as of Jan. 15, 2021 

 
 
Note: All entries in black ink below were incorporated directly into 
the second printing of the rules. Items in blue ink below are new. 
 
The Rules: 
 
3.1.2 (correction): The fifth sentence of this section got dropped by 
the printer. It should read: "...or “making change” to send different 
stacks in different directions, does…”  
 
3.4.2 (clarification): This applies to towns outside the player’s initial 
territory, as defined by the English Controlled Area Boundary. If the 
French player takes a town east of this line, he must garrison it with 
at least 1 SP in order to retain control; else it reverts back to Eng-
lish control. Similarly, if the English player takes a town west of the 
Boundary (except for La Rochelle), he must garrison it with at least 
1 SP to retain control, else it reverts to the French. Note too that 
even a besieged unit is sufficient to maintain control. 
 
3.4.4 (correction): Ignore the last sentence. Units that are still out of 
supply and not in a town are removed during the Final Determi-
nation Phase, per Section 8.1. 
 
5.2.1 (note): There never will be enough militia to satisfy this rule, 
this is intentional; militia are an expendable commodity, to be con-
tinually recycled. Nobody is meant to have masses of militia. 
 
5.2.6 (correction): Ignore the limits on how many Breton and Scot-
tish units can be on the map, as stated in the second sentence. The 
limits on both are actually imposed by the countermix. 
 
6.0 (correction): The first sentence of this section also got dropped 
by the printer. It should read: "Each game turn has two identical 
Player Turns in it. The English Player..." 
 
6.1.8 (addition): Fieldworks cannot be built inside towns. 
 
7.4 (clarification): There’s no penalty for losing the Duke of Burgun-
dy in battle. The Burgundians stay in the war (they only drop out 
when the “Burgundy Sues for Peace” event occurs), but are limited 
by no longer having an effective leader to command them in battle. 
 
7.5.2 (changes): On the 2nd line Insert the words “with one-half or 
fewer SPs than in the retreating force, and” between “hex” and “If”. 
Change the reference on the third line to be 7.5.1. 
 
7.5.3 Developer’s Note (correction): Again, a sentence drop here. 
The second sentence should read, “combined strength of the relief 
force and the troops inside the…” 
 
8.5 (clarification): Note that Charles has to start and end the turn in 
Rheims or Chartes to qualify as being one full turn there. 

 
The Scenarios: 
 
10.1 (correction): The setup below should say: 
• At Angers, Nantes, Vannes, Tours, Jargeau, Bourges, and 
Rennes 1 Militia (not Infantry) SP each. 
 
Bretons (correction): There is a second Breton 2-5 infantry unit 
called in Scenario 10.1’s reinforcements for Turn 2 that is missing 
from the first printing of the game. Use the image supplied below to 
paste over the front and back of one of the spare markers supplied. 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
11.1.1 (correction): Change the set up location of the English 1 in-
fantry SP force listed in Cherbourg to instead also be in Calais. 
 
11.2 (correction): Another sentence drop, the first sentence of this 
section should read: "Historically, Burgundy assisted its English 
allies in the siege…” 
 
Then use this Burgundian setup: 
Besieging Orleans:  2 Burgundian Infantry SP's, 1 Burgundian 
Archer SP, Duke of Burgundy 
• At La Charite and Troyes 1 Militia SP each. 
• At Auxerre 2 Infantry SPs, 1 Archer SP, 1 Heavy Cavalry SP. 
 
The Charts: 
 
CRT Die Roll Modifiers (correction): Leader combat bonuses are 
listed under Strength Modifiers. But, as per Rule 7.1.1, these combat 
bonuses are actually Die Roll Modifiers. 
 
CRT Results 2nd bullet (clarification): On a roll of 3 through 11, no-
thing happens, that leader gets away. Place that leader on the 
nearest (in MPs) friendly unit(s). 
 
TEC (clarification): The terrain MP entry costs are a bit tortured.  
• Clear terrain (with or without a Village present) costs 1 MP to 

enter, not “None.”  
• Then it’s +1 MP above the Clear terrain cost to enter Woods (2 

MPs). 
• Then it’s +2 MPs above the Clear terrain cost to enter Rough 

or Swamp hexes (3 MPs). 
• For rivers, rule 6.2.3’s prohibitions on combined stacks means 

that stacks do not combine when attacking across rivers. 
Delete the word "all" from the “Defender is doubled if ALL 
attackers…” entry. 

• Terrain effects for combat are cumulative. 
 
FRENCH NATIONAL WILL (correction): The “Die Roll Modifiers 
(Cumulative)” listed at the bottom of the table are not modifiers, but 
events that cause adjustments to the French National Will. 
 
 


